About Us

Find out about the WSH Council’s vision and mission.

About WSH Council

The Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) Council is a statutory body under the Ministry of Manpower that is supported by Tripartite Alliance Limited. It works closely with the industry, unions, professionals, trade associations and other government agencies to raise WSH standards in Singapore.

The Council's main functions include:

Vision and Mission

Vision: Healthy Workforce, Safe Workplace.
Mission: To build a healthy workforce and safe workplace by engaging communities to enhance capabilities and embrace best practices

Vision Zero

WSH Council believes that every company should embrace Vision Zero, the mindset that every accident is preventable. It is a mindset shift from fault-finding to one that focuses on finding solutions to prevent injuries and ill health. This can be achieved with the commitment of every stakeholder – employers, workers, unions and the government. Please refer to the following to find out more:
Vision Zero
- Healthcare Industry Vision Zero
Hospitality and Entertainment Industries
Jurong Island Vision Zero

WSH 2028

The WSH Council supports the 2028 Tripartite Strategies Committee's strategies and recommendations to bring the workplace fatality rate below 1.0 per 100,000 workers by 2028. Please refer to the following to find out more:

Council Structure

The WSH Council is made up of appointed leaders from the industry, unions, professionals, trade associations and other government agencies.

Council Members



Mr Abu Bakar Bin Mohd Nor

Group Chairman, M Kapital Holdings Pte Ltd

Deputy Chairman


Mr Vincent Phang

Group Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Post Limited



A/Prof Gan Wee Hoe

Chief Executive Officer, SingHealth Community Hospitals


Mr Simon Goh 

Head, Insurance and Reinsurance, Rajah and Tann Singapore 


Mr Adrian Lim

Executive Chairman, Disk Precision Group 


Mr Lim Keng Yang 

General Manager, Chevron Oronite  

Mr Lim Teck Chuan

Vice-President, National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) Central Committee


Mr Ricky Loo

Chief Executive Officer, CWT Integrated Pte Ltd 


Assoc Prof Kenneth Low

Cluster Director (Dean) of Engineering, Associate Professor, Singapore Institute of Technology 

Ms Ng Wee Wei 

Senior Managing Director and Market Unit Lead – Southeast Asia


Mr Silas Sng 

Commissioner for Workplace Safety and Health, Ministry of Manpower


Dr Eugene Fidelis Soh

Deputy Group CEO (Population Health),
National Healthcare Group  

Ms Aileen Tan

Group Chief People and Sustainability Officer, Singtel

Ms Tan Man Ee

Chief Operating Officer, NatSteel Holdings Pte Ltd  


Mr Tan Swee Yiow

Chairman and non-Executive Director, Keppel REIT Management Limited 


Mr Tay Choon Hong

Chief Executive Officer, Health Promotion Board 


Ms Dawn Teo

Senior Vice President, Amara Hotels and Resorts 


Mr Raj Joshua Thomas

Managing Partner, Tang Thomas LLC 


Mr Melvin Yong Yik Chye

Assistant Secretary-General, National Trades Union Congress (NTUC)


Committees, Taskforces and Workgroups

The WSH Council works through its committees, taskforces, and workgroups:


The Executive Committee assists the WSH Council in providing organisational directions, overseeing the implementation of board policies and ensuring good governance practices. 

The Industry Committees meet regularly to develop initiatives to help their industries. They include:

  • Chemical Industries Committee
  • Construction and Landscape Committee
  • Facilities Management Committee
  • Healthcare Committee
  • Hospitality and Entertainment Industries Committee
  • Manufacturing Committee
  • Marine Industries Committee
  • Transportation and Storage Committee

They are supported by the following Functional Committees:

  • Engagement and Outreach Committee
  • Industry Capability Building Committee
  • Mental Well-being Committee
  • Workplace Health Committee


At the moment, there are two taskforces, namely the WSH Council (Crane and Lifting) Taskforce and the WSH Council (National Work at Heights Safety) Taskforce.


The WSH Council works closely with different workgroups to promote adoption of good WSH practices in their respective communities. An example is the WSH Council (Higher Education and Research) Working Group.